Sharon - Awake and Dreaming

"Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius" -Marilyn Monroe

My sister and I.

An incident where I shouldn’t have done something was when I was in grade six and my sister was a little past the age of being a baby. She was a toddler (or a little older), so at that age you are really curious about everything, you touch anything you see, go wherever people tell you and have temper tantrums. One day my mom and I went to the store to buy makeup for my ballet recital. It was one of the first times I had ever gotten makeup, so I wanted to open all of it only on the day of my recital. That day I warned everyone in the house to keep their hands off the makeup.

A couple days after that I see the bathroom door slightly open and the lights turned on. That was very unusual, so I opened the door. And who do I see there? My sister with foundation all over the counter and floor, red lipstick and black eyeliner smudged all over her face. I was furious, “What did you do?!” I screamed. I started screaming and yelling. My mom quickly ran up the stairs and worriedly said, “What’s going on? What’s wrong?”. “Kim (my sister) ruined everything, it’s all ruined!” I said with tears streaming down my face. My mom replied calmly, “It’s okay, she didn’t mean to, it was an accident”. So many thoughts going through my head, “How is this an accident”, “Why is my mom taking her side?”, “Just because Kim is younger than me doesn’t mean she’s more innocent than I am”. So with all that happened I was convinced my mom was choosing favorites and she was treating me unfair. And as for my sister, I also convinced myself that she was the favorite child and she can do whatever she wants without facing the consequences. So my conclusion was revenge.

 

The next morning when I woke up for school and my sister was still sleeping, I took a pair of scissors, tip toed towards my sister and and chopped a huge chunk of her hair off. She never noticed until the next morning when she was brushing her hair and a huge amount of it fell to the ground. I came home from school.

My mom said,”Why did you cut her hair? All she did was take something from you that we can buy again.”

“No, I don’t want anymore makeup. If I did the same thing to Kim would you say the same thing to me?” I replied.

“Sharon you are the older sister you should know better.” My mom said slightly irritated and walked away.

 

I knew she was right but I didn’t want to accept it. I walked up the stairs and see Kim staring at me angrily, and I couldn’t help but laugh. So it was just like everyday after coming home from school, except the fact that my sister wasn’t speaking to me. I refused to apologize because I thought my sister deserved it for what she did to me. That night I went to bed, a couple hours after falling asleep I felt something cold and itchy on my eyebrow. It was my sister who took my dad’s razor and came into my room plotting her revenge.  She kept the razor at the edge of my eyebrow, contemplating whether she should shave my eyebrows off. And it seems like she took a long time because I woke up, saw my sister and without thinking I turned my head really quickly, and in an instant, half of my eyebrow was gone. I screamed so loud, my mom came in and told us she had enough with my sister and I. My mom yelled and told us to go to bed. In the morning my sister and I were both grounded for a month. That whole week Kim and I didn’t talk and just glared everytime we passed each other. Eventually we started speaking again because my parents threatened to ground us even longer if we don’t make up. From this experience Kim and I both learned instead of fighting and trying to get revenge, we would handle our situations mostly peacefully.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.google.ca/search?biw=1600&bih=752&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=HvAsW5aMGbKS0PEP6-eDgA8&q=black+and+white+pictures+of+kids+playingvintage&oq=black+and+white+pictures+of+kids+playingvintage&gs_l=img.3…41800.42827.0.43102.7.7.0.0.0.0.76.452.7.7.0….0…1c.1.64.img..0.0.0….0.iDCJJlVbItw#imgrc=fI2a_Gs6GGGUKM:&spf=1529671756693

 

Next Post

Previous Post

Leave a Reply

© 2024 Sharon – Awake and Dreaming

Theme by Anders Norén

Skip to toolbar